Glimpse

Monday, January 26, 2015

Start Fresh!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).


I hope that we've all had a great start to the New Year! One thing that I love about the New Year is that it gives us the chance to "start fresh" in many different ways. Whether that means starting fresh in an area of your life or lifestyle that you really want to focus on in the coming year or whether that means starting a brand new skill or hobby, there are many ways that you can kick-off 2015 with a fresh start!

DK Canada has some great ideas in their Start Fresh Boutique - especially if you're ready to tackle an exciting new craft project, learn a new skill or focus on learning an existing skill/talent better there is lots to choose from. DK Canada has chose some of their best books to help you make this your best year ever!

One thing that I've spent a lot of time working with and figuring out in the past while is gluten-free cooking! It's a tricky trade, but once you've found the good recipes and figured out how to make them just right you can make almost anything gluten-free and the foods can still taste delicious too! :)

Saturday, January 24, 2015

I Love DK ~ CONTEST!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).


The I Love DK Boutique is just about here again! And this year DK Canada will be filling their boutique with books that are loved by their fans and readers. In addition to this they are adding on a fabulous contest for the loyal DK Canada fans...the prize? A $250 shopping spree!!

First of all though, I want to share with you what one of our all-time favorite DK books has been! The Big Book of Things to Make is the title of our much-loved DK book. This book has been looked at over and over and over...and has been pulled out almost every time that we need a project to do or are a little 'bored.' We love the idea of inspiring our kids to make, create, practice or learn something when they "have nothing else to do!" It gets their brains thinking, the gears of the minds turning and you'll be amazed at what sort of amazing creations or ideas they might come up with. There are all sorts of different projects, games and quizzes in the book. There is a little bit of something for everyone...some fun sports ideas for those who like to be active, some quieter, indoor activities, some building activities, and some activities for those who are really co-ordinated (like juggling!) We found the book to be a great resource and it is perfect for pulling off the shelf when those 'boredom blues' strike!

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Then and Now...

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

The world we live in and the world our kids are being raised in is filled with gadgets, gizmos, all kinds of technology and there seems to be a tool or machine to do almost any job for you...or at least to make the job a whole lot easier! Travel is quick and things are fast-paced. It's a different world than it used to be, isn't it? Because this fast-paced, technology-filled world is all our children have ever known it is hard for them to imagine a world where you traveled in a horse-drawn sleigh, or where you had to do your cooking over a fire. It's hard to imagine what things might have been like 100 years ago. In fact, sometimes it is hard for even me to imagine what it was like in days past.

We recently added a new children's book to our bookshelves that can help to bridge the gap between generations and will give your children an educational "Then and Now" Trip through Time. "Grandma, Aren't You Glad the World's Finally in Color Today!" by Lori Stewart is a rhyming picture book that takes children and their families on a journey through time. Lori Stewart came up with a unique and fun way to contrast the WWII generation to the lives of children today. The book does a wonderful job of helping children understand and appreciate the transformation that the world has experienced in the past 100 years.

The pages feature side by side vintage and full color photographs that contrast things such as fashion, schools, transportation, entertainment, technology, culture and the arts. It's really interesting and is both a simple and fun way to help your child learn some history and some stories from the past. It also includes several timelines that each highlight well-known historical facts, interesting bits of science, geography and technological trivia.

"Grandma, Aren't You Glad the World's Finally in Color Today!" is a great little book that gives children and grandparents or other elderly people a chance to share and relate to each other's past, present and future. It gives parents a great way to start conversations about where we came from, and is a great tool for connection different generations together!

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Personalized art - revisited!

Yesterday a very special box arrived in the mail. Our paintings from Art by Lisa Riley are here!!

Mr. D and Miss A knew they were coming, sort of, so it wasn't a complete surprise that they would be getting a painting of their very own. But they didn't know, really, what the end result would look like. They're very very pleased with their paintings, and couldn't wait to open the packages!

Mr. D's face was actually quite priceless - if only I could have caught his initial reaction on camera! You see, his beloved bear, bedraggled and extremely well-loved, has been captured on a wrapped canvas portrait! Lisa makes a Lovey Portrait from one or more photos of your child's favourite object - blanket, bear or other stuffy. She gave me some suggestions on how to take the photos so she could best capture bear's character!

Here's a photo of bear:

L-R: (a)bear in his current, well-loved state, (b)bear how he started out (we have a spare!)and (c)bear how I posed him for the portrait 
 Here's the finished product:

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

The B. Teepee Adventure! ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

If there is one toy that I remember playing with a LOT as a child it was our little pop-up tents. My brother and I had all kind of adventures in those things. I remember dressing up and setting up our tents as 'real' living spaces. I remember that we were always plagued with bears...yes, there were lots of 'bears' around our tents and we spent a lot of time sneaking out of our tents and 'getting' the bears. ;) Those little tents made for some good adventures and some good memories! Many years have passed now and we have our own little family that we are raising up. I've realized that open-ended toys and the kinds of toys that foster creativity and imagination are really important and are the kinds of toys that we like to fill our home with.

In the last few weeks we have been thoroughly enjoying a magical little teepee tent from B. Toys! The B. Teepee has quickly become a favorite spot for our children to spend their time. It has been turned into a house, a castle, a place for baby dolls to sleep in, a camping tent, a reading spot and more. Our kids really enjoy heading into the tent early in the morning when they first wake up and the house is still dark. Why? Because the B. Teepee has an extra special lantern hanging inside! With the simple pull of a string you will have a magical light show as colorful stars are projected all around. It's beautiful, simple, fun and magical all at the same time. I've already spent my fair share of times snuggled into the teepee watching the light show with my kids. :) Take a peek...

video

Monday, January 19, 2015

Scholastic Monday ~ I Am a Zamboni Machine

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).



Some of my earliest memories of the rink are of the zamboni machine. Don't ask me why, but the zamboni machine always fascinated me! It really is a cool machine and it's one that is unique and doesn't get nearly as much attention as the garbage truck, digger or fire truck.

This winter we've been able to check out a fun little shaped board book that is a perfect addition to the bookshelf for any Canadian hockey fan (or any Canadian child for that matter!) I Am a Zamboni Machine by Kevin Viala is perfect for little hands and is also small enough to easily fit inside the diaper bag or a backpack. The book highlights the actions of a zamboni machine and has plenty of colorful illustrations to go along with the text.

I Am a Zamboni Machine is a great introduction to a machine that is not talked about very often, but is essential for making our ice smooth and shiny so we can get out there and enjoy the great winter activities of hockey and ice skating!

Friday, January 16, 2015

Live Clean Giveaway!!

I've just updated the post about Live Clean's Apple Cider Shampoo with a great giveaway!! 3 winners will each win a bottle of this clarifying shampoo and be able to try out the benefits for themselves! Head over to the post to enter the giveaway!

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Keep Life's Clutter Cleaned Up ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

You may think it's a little strange, but I LOVE organizing. Truly, I do. The problem comes in when I just don't have enough time to store and organize everything the way I'd like to...or when my precious children decide to "unorganize" an area that I just finished organizing. However, I am learning to let the unorganized areas not bother me as much as they used to...sometimes there are things that are more important than a perfectly organized toy box, right? :)

That said, I've also picked up a few tips during the past 8 years of parenting to help keep our home a more organized and clutter-free space. There are even things that my kids can do to help cut back on clutter and to help keep their rooms, toys, coloring supplies, etc. clean and neat. Now, I don't expect my children to put their books in alphabetical order and to color-code their crayons, but I do expect them to help keep things clean and organized in an easier, more child-friendly fashion. One thing that we've enjoyed using for things such as toys, crayons, kids jewelry and other smaller items are ZizzyBee Bags. These are eco-friendly bags that are reusable and durable! They are made from a breathable, see-through fabric that allows your children to see what is inside without dumping the whole thing out. The bags zip shut which means that even a young child can open and close a ZizzyBee Bag without help. Our 2 year old can open and close the bags without any problems.

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Put Those You Love in the Story! ~ GIVEAWAY (2 Prize Packs!)

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

In exactly one month we will celebrating the "day of love" - Valentine's Day! Personally, our family doesn't do an extravagant celebration, but we do like to do a few smaller things on Valentine's Day to show and remind our loved ones that we love and care about them. It's a great time to find some fun activities to do with your children as well...for example, last year we cut hearts and cucumbers into heart shapes and added them into our lunch. This year I think we might make some fun Valentine's Day placemats and set the table up extra special for a meal. :) Along with that we are going to do one of our favorite every-day activities too, but with a little twist. Almost every day the kids and I like to sit down and read a few books together and this year we're going to read some love-themed books to celebrate this special day of love coming up on February 14!

Our love-themed books will be extra special this year though as they are coming from Put Me In The Story - a wonderful online store that creates personalized books with your children's names and pictures in them! Check out a few of these fabulous titles that are all about love:

I Love You So…  by Marianne Richmond

"I love you."
"How much?"
"SO much."
"How much is so?"
“Way, Way more than you know."

Unconditional love is a powerful thing...but it sure is hard to put it into words some days! I Love You So... puts into words this often indescribable quality of boundless, steady and unconditional love. This little book is a wonderful reminder of the love that you have for your child(ren) and it's perfect for adding into your day and for those moments when you want to sit down and spend a few minutes relaxing, snuggling and reading a story to your precious little one(s).

Freshen Up with OraMD Breath! ~ GIVEAWAY (3 WINNERS!)

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Bad breath is one of those things that you never want to have...yet, sometimes you have it and the worst part is that you can't smell your bad breath, so you have no idea that you are suffering from bad breath!

Oftentimes people will simply chew a piece of gum or suck on a breath mint in order to ensure that their breath smells pleasantly fresh. The thing about these two options that I tend to steer away from is the fact that they both are very high in refined sugars and they actually promote the growth of that unwanted bacteria that is giving you bad breath in the first place. The consumption of refined sugars can also possibly cause other issues when it comes to your mouth health or your overall health. Simply put, I don't really want to be popping in sugar-filled gum and mints every day. So, is there a better solution?

There sure is and it comes from Trusted Health Products in the form of a 100% Natural Formula known as OraMD Breath. As the name suggests, it is made with 100% natural ingredients and works to kill the cause of bad breath. It doesn't just "cover up" the problem but gets to the root of the problem and has been clinically proven to effectively kills periodontal bacteria (the worst kind of oral bacteria).

There are many different kinds of breath sprays and rinses out there, but let's take a peek at what makes OraMD Breath different than other similar products...

Affilliations

Sites we enjoy

Vote for us!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Please rate us at The Mom Blogs

  © Template modified from Blogger template "Simple n' Sweet" by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP