Glimpse

Friday, March 27, 2015

Easter at Hallmark!!

It's hard to believe it's nearly Easter! It was feeling spring-ier last week, but this week we had snow again (ugh!) and it sort of makes you forget that Easter is nearly here too! The Easter crafts started coming home from nursery school this week and it was a good reminder though.

Hallmark does their best to keep me up to date with the next holiday that's coming up - in the recent installment of wonderful Hallmark items, there were quite a few Easter themed products. Your local Hallmark store certainly has a lot "in store" to help you celebrate and decorate for Easter.

There are a lot of specialty gift items, including singing plush toys, children's books, stationer and accessories. If you're a fan of the Bambi film, Thumper is sure to delight you with a plush version and also a cute storybook! Winnie-the-pooh and Snoopy fans will be glad to find spring-themed plush versions of their favourite characters, whether in ultra-soft versions or singing versions!

Mimi the mouse is a new character for the Easter 2015 season. This singing plush has a collection of 7 original pop tunes that she will sing on demand (or you can let her choose!) She has rather large eyes and ears, and at first we thought she was a rabbit! :) Also, the choosing of a song is quite difficult for children's voices. Mimi-themed items include a storybook and a microphone with which you can sing along.

If you're more into traditional Easter decor, you'll love the bunny mugs and bunny serving platter - with a debossed floral bunny design. This would make a great gift for someone this spring.

Other years we've also received beautiful Easter cards, suitable for a variety of recipients. If a card is your thing, the Hallmark store has got you covered! Often a card purchase or three will gain you a discount on the themed products of the season - check out the special Easter offers!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Thursday, March 26, 2015

The Poli Cup ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

The sippy cup. It sounds so simple, so easy...and so useful, however, through my last 8 years of parenting we've found that the world of "sippy cups" can be much more difficult than one would imagine. We've tried our fair share of sippy cups in the past eight years, and have loved some and thrown out others. We've tried ones that really we easy to use, and ones that took much to long to take apart, clean and put back together. We've found a few sippy cups that have been leak-proof, and quite a few that weren't. :) As the years have gone by we've widdled down our sippy cup collection to a few select types of cups. The most recent cup that we've added to the shelf (and that our 2 year old is really enjoying!) is the Poli Cup.

The Poli cup is a great little sippy cup. It is smaller than some of the other ones out there and it really is both innovative and simple. One thing that is unique about this cup and that I, as a parent, really appreciated was that the valve is a tethered built-in valve - so you're not constantly looking for and loosing the little valve parts to the cup. It is easy to keep clean as well and can be run through the dishwasher for an easy way to clean and sterilize your child's sippy cup. Here's a few other features and/or benefits that we've enjoyed while using the Poli cup with our toddler:

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Egg-citing Easter Fun From Hasbro!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Easter is a time of year that I look forward to each year. First off, it is a time of year that is very meaningful to our family...and second of all - it means that Spring is here and the snow is on it's way out and the warm weather is on it's way in!! I remember when I was young my mom would always do a fun little Easter hunt for us kids...and we loved it...and yes, this was another part of Easter that I looked forward to as a kid. Now that I'm grown and have my own kids, I want to make the same kind of special & fun memories with them each Easter as well. The problem is that with Easter comes a lot of chocolate, sweet egg-shaped candies, big chocolate Easter bunnies and more. Sugary candies and lots of sweet chocolate treats are things that we try not to encourage with our children. Instead, we love to use our imagination and to give our children treats, gifts and special memories that involve things other than lots of sugary treats and candies. One of our go-to places for this type of thing is Hasbro and this Easter they've got a great selection of fun, unique and exciting ideas to give to your kids this Easter. Come along with me and see what we've decided to bless our kids with this Easter instead of the candy and treats...

Our kids have played the non-Junior version of "Life" and loved it. However, it really needed a lot of "adult supervision" to make sure that they were actually understanding the game and playing it (somewhat) correctly! Since our children are all ages 8 years and under we were super excited when we saw that Hasbro had a Junior version of this great game! Its very similar to the adult version, but with cooler rides, extra-fun adventures and more. The Game of Life Junior is definitely a better fit for the younger ones in our home, and it was still really fun to play as an adult as well! This is the type of Easter gift that our kids will be able to enjoy together and for many, many more weeks and months (and hopefully even years!) to come.

Monday, March 23, 2015

Scholastic Monday ~ Pyjama Day!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

I love it when my kids are reading a book on their own and they burst into spontaneous giggles or laughter! OR I also love it when I am reading a book to them and we all start laughing over a funny part in the story. There's something about a funny story and about sharing a good laugh together that bonds us together - even if "all" we are doing is reading a book together. I love seeing our children enjoy reading and laughing as they read the silly parts in the book. There is one author that never fails to get some giggles out of our kids (and sometimes even out of us parents) as we read the outrageous and humorous stories that he writes. Yep, it's none other than Robert Munsch. He's a well-known children's author - and for good reason, because kids LOVE his books!

Our most recent one that we've added to the bookshelf is Pyjama Day! by Robert Munsch. It's geared for ages 3-7 and is the perfect 'pyjama day' story. Our kids enjoy having a pyjama day every once in a while and I remember having pyjama day at school as well. It was always fun to go to school in your pj's. ;) However, in this particular story Andrew decides to bring is wonderful new pyjamas to school...and although it may be hard to imagine, these pyjamas were a little TOO perfect! As soon as he puts the pyjama's on he falls into a deep, deep sleep. Nothing can wake him up. No one can wake him up...until that perfect pair of pyjamas comes off. The principal doesn't believe that Andrew could have such a 'perfect' pair of pyjamas and so he decides to try them out himself. What do you think happens to the principal when he puts them on?!! You'll have to read the book to find out, but I have a feeling that you might already know the answer. *wink*

Saturday, March 21, 2015

It's Time to Get Cooking!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

I don't know about your household, but in ours we're starting to get antsy...we're starting to REALLY lose interest in all the normal indoor activities and I hear the question "How many more days until summer?" many times these days. However, the snow is not quite gone yet and neither is the cool weather so although the kids go out to play for an hour here or there, we still need to find something fun and exciting to do inside while we wait for the time when we can spend the WHOLE day out in the sun. :) So, this March Break (or even this Easter break!) you'll want to check out the March Break Boutique at DK Canada for some fun ideas that are full of creativity and adventure!

In the past little while our kids have shown a lot of interest in cooking, and that makes me really excited. My oldest son used to tell me that when he grew up his job would be to stay home and cook food for me so that I would never have to cook again! haha. What a cutie. Unfortunately, I'm pretty sure that won't be his job but I do know that when he leaves home and heads out on his own that I want him to know how to cook and how to prepare meals for himself. Mommy and Me Start Cooking from DK Canada is a wonderful way to learn about cooking for kids. It has fun activities, kitchen experiments, an introduction to cooking measurements and lots of kid-friendly recipes to try out too. Kids will learn about staple ingredients, where food comes from and more.

Thursday, March 19, 2015

Coconut for your HAIR?! :) GIVEAWAY!!

My boys were home the day the box of Live Clean Coconut Milk Shampoo and Conditioner arrived. As sick as they were, this box brought about gales of laughter right away, and giggles and snickers throughout the day. Apparently, the thought of putting coconut milk on your hair is extremely funny! :) Who knew?!

I love coconut milk, but up until now, I'd not tried it on my hair! I was keen. My little girl, who desperately needs conditioner to calm her crazy, curly, tangly hair, was keen to try out the new conditioner as well! After using it, she went all over the house asking us to smell her hair! It had a faint but pleasant coconut smell, and she was pleased! :)

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

An EGGstraordinary Easter! #KinderMom

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Winter seemed to go by faster than usual this year for us. I'm not sure why...maybe because Spring has sprung a little earlier than usual in the prairies this year? Regardless, we are LOVING the fact that the snow is melting, there are puddles all around and we've even taken our bikes out of the shed and have enjoyed some bike rides around the block!

Another part of spring that we all enjoy is Easter...and it is just around the corner! Easter is a celebration in our family that means a lot. There is a lot of Biblical meaning behind this Easter season for us in our home, but we also love to make it a little extra special for the kids by doing some fun Easter-related activities. In the past we've hidden plastic Easter eggs with treats inside them...or we've handed out Kinder Surprises...or we've simply painted eggs. We've enjoyed each of these activities together in past years. :)

Monday, March 16, 2015

Spring, Jump & Skip with GeoSpace! ~ GIVEAWAY!!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

I don't know about you, but in our house we THRILLED that spring and summer are just around the corner. I've been questioned many times already on "How many days is it until Summer?!" My answer? Summer is here whenever the snow melts...and here in the Canadian prairies that can happen in March or it can happen in May. ;) Thankfully, this year it looks like it is going to happen in March! Either way, nothing can stop us from dreaming about summer weather and about all the fun outdoor activities that we'll be able to enjoy soon. This year we've got a few new spring and summer toys that are ready and waiting...and one toy that we can play with inside WHILE we are waiting for the snow to disappear!

GeoFlux™ is an amazing little toy that can do all sorts of things that we never knew a toy could do! It's an interactive spring toy and magically transforms from what looks like a flat series of rings when you see it in the package, into an amazingly fun 3-D sculpture that kind of looks like a giant atom. This is the kind of toy that kids are going to love. It is easy to use and a lot of fun. Once you put your hand through the coils the GeoFlux begins to spiral and spin very quickly up and down your arms! It doesn't have to just stay on your arm either...you can "bridge" it over to another person's arm...and then back to yours again. GeoFlux is made from a durable and continuous band of stainless steel and will fold flat when it is not in use. I can think of many times when our GeoFlux will likely be coming along with us this summer...on camping trips...to Grandma & Grandpa's house and of course, we'll use it at home too and to share with friends at a summer get together or birthday party. It's a great toy to pull out on a rainy day as well!

DK Discovery Day ~ Meet Unikitty! ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

The LEGO Movie has been a huge hit for kids this past year - and judging from our own kids' reactions, it is has been particularly exciting for young boys! Our eight year old son has loved all thing Lego since he was about 5 years old, so The Lego Movie was something that he really enjoyed. He's learned all of the characters names, and enjoys reading any reading material he can find on the movie...especially some of the newest readers from DK Canada!

Although this Level 1 reader was perhaps a bit too simple for him, he didn't mind. The LEGO Movie: Meet Unikitty! was a quick read for him, but he had a lot of fun reading it - and it's these types of books that can help to prove to kids that reading really is FUN!

In the Meet Unikitty reader you'll get to step into the world of Cloud Cuckoo Land as Unikitty and her friends work together to save the day. How will the story play out? How will it end?! The book is complete with lots of colorful Lego-based images as well.

Friday, March 13, 2015

Limeapple Swim Sale!

**Disclosure: I received compensation from company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Spring Break is coming up and Limeapple is ready to make sure we are ready! Limeapple is having their GOING SOUTH SPRING BREAK SWIM SALE starting TODAY until Sunday March 15, 2015! This means that for this weekend only you will be able to purchase any Limeapple swim wear for 25% off!

Limeapple's swim wear has lots of great features including:

~ UPF 50+ protection blocks out 97% of the suns harmful rays
~ Lining in the front for a more comfortable wear
~ Zipper guards to prevent irritation
~ Sleek streamlined fit
~ Durable fabrics with quick dry time
~ Machine washable
~ Exclusive Limeapple designs

Affilliations

  © Template modified from Blogger template "Simple n' Sweet" by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP