Glimpse

Friday, October 24, 2014

Hallowe'en is coming and Hallmark has you covered! GIVEAWAY!!

Looking out the window, I see that the neighbours are busy with putting up Hallowe'en decorations! A few houses around our neighbourhood have some too. It's that time of year!



If you're planning on hosting a Hallowe'en gathering you'll be wanting some Hallowe'en decorations for inside your house too! Maybe you like humourous, maybe a little spooky. Do you want something automated, or a holiday banner? In all cases, your local Hallmark store has you covered! The latest Hallmark Press Pause box has arrived - full of Hallowe'en goodies! What would you like to use to decorate your house?

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Fall 2014 Healthy Shopper Picks! ~ GIVEAWAY ($250!)

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Over the past few years we've become HUGE fans of The Healthy Shopper. Just when we think we're 'stuck in a rut' for healthy snack or meal ideas, Healthy Shopper comes to the rescue with a box full of healthy additions to our pantry and fridge to get us out of that "recipe rut!" They always bring fresh ideas that our whole family loves and enjoys...and best of all, these ideas are nutritious and healthy and are items that I can feel good about feeding my growing family!

First of all, in case you're not sure exactly what The Healthy Shopper is, let me fill you in. They simply help Canadians get natural and organic foods into their lives. Their focus is on healthy ingredients and their goal is to help families make simple changes in their homes to get rid of conventional products and replace them with natural ones. They do the research, ingredient-reading and carefully select their top picks every spring and fall. The Healthy Shopper is a fabulous resource for busy families.

So, let's take a peek at what The Healthy Shopper has chosen for fall 2014. There are some great ones that are definitely going to be staples in our pantry in the future! Their first choice for this fall is Olympic Dairy's new Chia yogurt! I've often heard about how healthy Chia seeds are - and even have some in my own pantry, but rarely find places to use them, so I was excited to try this new combination of Chia & yogurt from Olympic Dairy. Olympic Dairy has great ingredients to begin with (no artificial colours, flavours or preservatives), but the Chia, which is considered a super food, makes their yogurt even healthier! Did you know that Chia is the richest plant-source of healthy Omega 3 oil, important for heart and cholesterol health? Combine that with the pre- and probiotics that Olympic Dairy yogurt gives you and you've got a winning product!

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Popcorn With a Twist! ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Popcorn has been a long-standing, classic, everybody-loves-it type of snack food! It's perfect for munching on and enjoying during movies, during a games night...or really, just any time that you feel the need for a snack! Recently we discovered a brand new type of popcorn...and it goes far above and beyond the regular buttery popped corn that we often snack on. Yes, it's added a new dimension to the idea of having popcorn for a snack...instead of simple popcorn, it is Drizzlecorn! The name says it all as the popcorn is drizzled with amazingly delicious flavors to add a special twist to your popcorn snacks.

We tried the latest flavor of Drizzlecorn and immediately fell in love with it. Their latest type of Drizzlecorn is Chocolate Peanut Butter Drizzlecorn...doesn't just hearing the name make your mouth water?! ;) Although it won't be a good fit for anyone with peanut allergies, it certainly fit well into our home...one taste and our kids were begging for more! Both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it as well...and our first bag of Drizzlecorn disappeared VERY quickly!

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Vichy Idéalia GIVEAWAY!!

So, my own mother has been saying for a while now that I'm not a spring chicken anymore (thanks Mom!!). I suppose it's true. I'm starting to notice signs of aging...a few grey hairs here and there, and my skin is not looking as young anymore. I'm becoming more interested in trying products that will help improve my complexion and skin tone.

Recently, I received some new products from Vichy's Idéalia collection. New BB Cream and Eyes were included, and I was intrigued to try them both.

BB CREAM

This "wonder-cream" performs 6 actions on skin:

  • illuminates
  • evens the complexion
  • moisturizes
  • smooths fine lines
  • refines skin texture
  • protects


It's marketed as "anti-grey" technology, which means that it reduces grey tones in the complexion and increases pink tones. It contains pink corrective mineral pigments to help with grey surface issues, and kombucha which reduces grey tone at every layer of the skin.  Of course, it's formulated with Vichy Thermal Spa Water, which is rich in 15 rare minerals and helps fight irritation, inflammation, and skin discomfort.

I noticed how easy it was to apply and smooth in the cream. I like that it comes in 2 tints (light and medium) to suit your natural skin colour. And, I like that it will help make my skin look younger! :) My skin feels soft and smoother after I've used the cream.

Monday, October 20, 2014

DK Discovery Day ~ Pull the Tab Books Animals ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Let's face it...kids love animals! From the birds in the sky, to the fish in the lakes, to the pets in our own homes, animals are something that easily captures the interest of every child I've met! Now, I will admit that sometimes kids don't like seeing the actual animal up close (we ourselves have 3 little girls who are quite afraid of dogs!), but they even if they don't enjoy a real 'visit' with an animal, they still have always enjoyed looking at them and learning about them through books. From the time that our babies or toddlers have been able to communicate, they've always enjoyed books with animals in them and will always point out the puppies, kitties, cows, etc.

DK Canada has recently added some adorable Pull the Tab Books to their selection and one of them is on animals! The Pull the Tab Book, Animals has already been very much loved in our home! Our two year old daughter especially enjoys this book and it has made some great entertainment for her during "quiet times" such as church or in the van when we are traveling. The book has all kinds of animals to look at and they are shown with real-life photographs (no cartoons or drawings). I love that they get to see real images of moths, rabbits, pets and more! Of course, pulling the tab is great entertainment as well. Our kids love to 'find' the animals on each page as they pull the tabs.

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Sustainable, Versatile Storage!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

I'm one of those people...you know...the kind that loves to organize. The kind that organizes stuff for fun. And the kind where organizing calms me...and lowers my stress level. So you can imagine how exciting it was when a package arrived at our doorstep containing a set of 6 zBoard Box Storage Cabinets!! Ah yes...a night or organizing lay ahead and I was thoroughly looking forward to it! But...in order to spend my evening organizing, I needed to set up the storage cabinets first. I will readily admit, that although I may be good at organizing, I am generally not that great at building things or putting things together. Because of this I was a little apprehensive about putting together our new zBoard storage cubes, but I decided to give it a try anyways...and was pleasantly surprised!

The zBoard Storage cabinets were VERY simple and easy to put together. The instructions were clear, to the point and had helpful diagrams to help me along. It didn't take long and all the storage cubes were put together and ready to go...and I must say that I was even able to complete the job with 4 of my children present and wanting to help! By the time I was putting together the last one, my 8 year old son knew exactly what to do and was basically able to do it himself...that's proof of how simple these are to assemble. I love it!

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

As Easy As it Gets ~ Idiot's Guides

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

The "Idiot's Guide to...." books have been around for a long time. In fact, I remember reading them and using them even back when I was a teen...they were always super informative and had all kinds of tips and information to help me find the answers I was looking for. However, if you've seen any of these books, you'll have to admit that they weren't exactly eye-catching. The bright yellow may catch your eye, but that's where it stopped. Inside, the book was filled to the bring with great information, but there were no color images, and the pages were mostly filled with words or print.

That said, even in their plain-jane version, I've been a fan of The Idiot's Guides for a long time! Recently though, things have changed! The Idiot's Guides have been re-imagined with new author, pages and pages of all-new, full color photography and images as well as with new topics! There's been a lot of new things going on with the Idiot's Guides and DK Canada wants to share these latest and greatest Idiot's Guides with you. They're doing this by running a special boutique just for the new Idiot's Guides books. They're available for 30% off right now, so you'll definitely want to head over and take a peek!

Most of us enjoy the thought of learning something new...however, when it comes right down to actually doing it, we often sluff off and just 'never get around to it!' Well, with the latest Idiot's Guides you really will have no excuse. They have step by step instructions...and picture by picture instructions! They've got images to help you see what they are talking about, and images to get your imagination and creative spirit working overtime. And the best part is, these photos are all in full-color!!

For the "Little Mothers..."

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Do you have a "Little Mother" in your house? You know what I'm talking about, right? ;) Many of us who have little girls can vouch for the fact that we also have at least one "little Mother" in our home too. in other words, a "little Mother" is simply a child who follows the example of her mom, and loves the idea of pretending and practicing being a mom. We've got three little girls, who are all "little mothers" to some degree...and I love it! Seeing them nurture and care for their younger siblings is very sweet...even if the younger siblings don't always desire that extra bit of care. This past summer we had another baby join our family. It was very exciting and he still gets a LOT of extra love from all his older siblings. But with the arrival of a new baby, I've also noticed that our three girls have stepped it up when it comes to trying to be a "little mother." These days I often see them feeding their babies, putting their babies to sleep and changing their babies' imaginary diapers! Now...if only they could change the real baby's diaper...right?! ;) *wink*

We've been a fan of Hasbro's Baby Alive dolls right from the time the first of our little girls came into our home. In fact, her first Christmas gift was a Baby Alive doll...and it has had a lot of 'mothering' over the past few years! Baby Alive has one extra special doll though that will give your "little Mother" some real practice. Baby Alive, My Baby All Gone is a one-of-a-kind doll that does almost everything that a real baby will do! Your children will be able to feed their baby (which includes mixing up 'food' in her bottle) and then after a good feeding, Baby All Gone will need her diaper changed! And this isn't just a pretend diaper change because 'pees' and 'poops' just like a real baby! In addition to this, the doll also have over 30 phrases that she can respond with. She's perfect for hugging, cuddling, and is the idea doll for a little mommy-want-to-be!

Monday, October 13, 2014

Blurb Goes Global!

Blurb Goes Global! Exclusive 25% Off on Canadian and Australian Blurb Photo Books
(sponsored post)


It was only a matter of time before the easiest and most comprehensive way to publish photographic art made its way to other countries—Canada and Australia, you are the lucky ones! Blurb, the complete publishing platform, is making its global debut, and in the process they would like to celebrate with 25% off photo books for our Australian friends with code: AUSTRALIA25 and 25% off photo books for our Canadian friends with code: CANADA25. Photo books are the perfect unique, handmade gift for the holidays, and a wonderful way to start off a new publishing relationship with Blurb. Don't wait to get started on your first masterpiece today—these offers only last until October 31st!

Smithsonian Planets - in 3D!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Outer Space is a hot topic around here these days! I never thought I'd learn as much about space as I've learned in the past year or two. There's nothing quite like discovering space along-side your 8 year old son who has a huge fascination for all things space! In fact, just tonight our family went out to the back deck to see if we could spot the International Space Station as it moved across the sky - and sure enough, we got to see it pass by! It was a fun little experience...and as the evenings get darker sooner you can be sure that pretty soon we'll be pulling out our telescope and looking at the moon, the stars and hopefully even an occasional planet!

Our universe truly is amazing and each planet is so unique. My personal favorite is Saturn...I love the beautiful rings that surround it. My son? He'd say Jupiter was his favorite! It's a lot of fun to read about and study the planets together as a family and we've learned a lot of really interesting facts.

Smithsonian Planets is a top-notch book that we recently added to our shelves. We are looking forward to diving into the 256 pages of information and images of the planets in our solar system. This book has all-new 3D models throughout it that uses data that's bee gathered by NASA and the European Space Agency...so you can be sure that it has the latest, up-to-date information and facts that we have. Smithsonian Planets also takes a good look at the sun as well has hundreds of moons and thousands of asteroids and comets. They've really 'taken care of everything' when it comes to helping us understand more about our solar system.

Affilliations

Sites we enjoy

Vote for us!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Please rate us at The Mom Blogs

  © Template modified from Blogger template "Simple n' Sweet" by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP