Glimpse

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Get ready to go back to school! GIVEAWAY!!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).


I know, I know, it's still July, and back to school is a long way off. But sometimes it pays to be ready ahead of time, especially when an item is discounted!

If you've been following our blog for a while, you'll know our family loves labelling our stuff. Lovable Labels' labels are on many of our possessions, especially items that regularly go with us out of the house! We've used them on footwear, clothing, dishes, water bottles, reusable snack bags, backpacks and lunch bags, Tupperware and other "take with you" containers... just about on anything. They've been through the dishwasher, washer and dryer, microwave, to school, nursery school, day camp, field trips, camping trips, bike rides, family outings... Literally, they've stuck with us through thick and thin! Labels on clothing (ie gym clothes) stay on through repeated washings. Labels on snack containers and water bottles suffer through their adventure in the dishwasher. Leftovers dishes taken to school or work are easily identified as ours!

Disaster Preparedness ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

It never hurts to be prepared. Whether you are you preparing for the arrival of a baby, the beginning of a new school year, or something more serious such as the possibility of a hurricane, a long power outage or a tornado, being prepared is ALWAYS a good thing. In fact, I've come to the realization over the past few years that even though I may not necessarily feel like doing the extra work or preparation ahead of time, I have never EVER EVER regretted being prepared.

With all the hot temperatures, summer is often a time when storms are brewing. In fact, we're already had quite a few pass through our little town this summer...with a doozy of a storm yesterday! Thankfully, everyone was safe and sound despite the hail, strong winds and heavy rains...however, it may not always turn out that way. This is when families need to be 'in the know' and be prepared for the worst. No matter where you live there is always the potential for either a natural or a man-made disaster. We recently received a copy of the Disaster Preparedness book which is filled with helpful tips, ideas and instructions on how to make sure that you, your family and your home are ready BEFORE disaster strikes!

Monday, July 28, 2014

Perfect Threads ~ $50 GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Over the past 8 years as a parent I've come to a few important realizations - one of them being that kids grow out of their clothing FAST! Especially when they are younger. Many of the children's clothing that our kids have used are still looking like they are almost new - even though a few of them have already gone through four separate children and are now ready and waiting to be handed down to our 5th little blessing! Along with this realization comes another realization that paying full price and buying brand new clothing for our kids really is not a wise use of our dollars. The truth is that used clothing is very often in excellent condition and you will be paying MUCH less and still be able to clothe your child in stylish, cute, fun and high quality clothing.

Because of the few simple facts I shared above, we are a family that LOVES to find places to find good bargains on used clothing for our children. In the summer months it can be garage sales, and often times we've found some items at a local thrift store. However, there are times when it is hard to get out of the house...and well, it's not always extremely convenient and relaxing to browse through the shelves for the right items when you've got 4 little ones vying for your attention at the same time. :) That's why I've really come to enjoy online shopping. I can do it from home, at a time of day that is convenient for me. However, I have found it somewhat tricky to find a good Canadian source for doing online shopping for quality, used and affordably-priced clothing.

Recently I came across a Canadian-owned business that definitely caught my eye!! Perfect Threads is a online shop that sells 'like-new' and 'new' children's clothing at 80% off the retail price...and it gets even better than that! Perfect Threads not only has an amazing selection of high quality children's clothing in MANY sizes to choose from, but they also make the process very, very easy. If you have some boxes of too-small, like-new children's clothing sitting around your home you can send the clothing to Perfect Threads for FREE! Yep, they pay for all the shipping for you to get your clothing there...talk about hassle-free! Once they staff has assessed the clothing and determined their value, they will deposit this amount into your customer account. At this time you can use the money to shop on their website, or you can also donate it to a charity of your choice.

DK Discovery Day ~ Awesome Animals ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

I can't think of many (if any!) kids that don't enjoy stickers! They are easy to use...great for both little fingers and bigger fingers, they encourage creativity and allow kids to create their own masterpieces...and well, they're just a whole lot of fun! Now...DK Canada has once again gone above and beyond when it comes to one of their latest ultimate sticker/activity book releases. This book is not only an ultimate sticker book (with loads of reusable stickers!) but it is also an activity book that has all kinds of fun activities for kids to do, such as mazes, jigsaws, mix-and-match pages and more. Yep...did you catch that? I mean really - it's a dream come true for both parents and kids! The book is packed full of stickers, full-color images/photos, fun activities AND it's educational. This means that while your kids are having a blast working through the book, they will also be picking up facts and learning new things. Definitely a win-win situation!

One of their most recent releases in the Ultimate Sticker Activity Collection is titled Awesome Animals. It was created together with the Smithsonian Institution (and we've LOVED the fun & educational items we've received from Smithsonian in the past!) and is a wonderful way to help introduce your children to the world of animals. The book is geared specifically for children ages 6-8 and I've found that this book was perfect for both my 6 year old daughter and my (almost!) 8 year old son.

The Ultimate Sticker Activity Collection, Awesome Animals has been a great way to pass the time on a rainy summer day. Or to pass the time while traveling in the van! It's a wonderful way to keep those little minds active and learning during these summer months and you'd be surprised what they will all pick up and remember when they are having fun and learning at the same time. :)

WIN IT!
DK Canada is giving a copy of the Awesome Animals Sticker & Activity book to one of our readers! In order to enter please follow the instructions on the form below. Open to Canada only. Contest ends August 11, 2014.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 21, 2014

Scholastic Monday ~ Zoe's Jungle

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Summer is here and that means lots of OUTDOOR adventures, right?! Our kids have enjoyed all types of outdoor adventures already this year, and I love seeing their imaginations run wild. :) In fact, my son tells me that when he grows up he wants to be an explorer...what a job that would be! ;) Either way, it always brings joy to my heart to see my kids exploring and imagining together during these beautiful summer months.

However, a part of summer also includes rainy days, and for days like these, Scholastic Canada has a great selection of books to help keep kids busy, keep their minds active, and give them plenty of fuel for new adventures either inside or outside. One that we recently have added to our collection is Zoe's Jungle by Bethanie Deeney Murguia. In this fun little story, Zoe is a fearless explorer in the jungle and she catches a glimpse of the extraordinary and VERY rare wild Addiebeast. She does what any explorer would do and begins to pursue the Addiebeast in hopes of catching it...however, her mother calls out a "We're leaving in 5 Minutes" warning (does this sound familiar to any other moms out there? ;) ) Five minutes doesn't seem like much time to catch that Addiebeast, but Zoe races against the clock to finish her quest in time. Her jungle is actually a playground, and the book vividly portrays how her imagination turns it into a jungle. Will she catch the Addiebeast in time?!

Zoe's Jungle is a children's book that is full of fun and character. The simple cartoon drawings draw kids in - and really add to the story. It is a fun book to keep on the bookshelf for a rainy day or a quiet time and it may even inspire your own kids to start a new adventure!

Friday, July 18, 2014

Keep Your Kids Entertained and Educated this Summer! ~ CONTEST!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Summer is meant to be a 'break' from those long days of sitting at school desks, studying and learning...right? Well, technically...yes! I can't imagine not allowing kids to spend days playing outside in the beautiful summer weather away from those school desks, but on the other hand - do we really need to hault all education and learning during the summer? In my opinion, summer is a time to learn and explore all sorts of things! We love to focus on topics that specifically interest our children and aim to do a LOT of hands-on learning activities during the summer months (our most recent was raising tadpoles into frogs! VERY fun, interesting and educational!)

However, that said, even those of us with the best intentions will run out of ideas at some point...plus, I've found that the rainy days can be long and drawn out if we don't have something planned to keep the kids occupied inside. This is when we look to DK Canada, and they have a fabulous Summer Boutique happening right now. There are tons of great activity books (all available at 30% off for a limited time) for kids. They can be used during the long, hot days, or during the extra long, rainy days! We usually pull these out on the rainy days and have been especially impressed with one of DK Canada's more recent collections - the Ultimate Factivity Collection books. These books are along the same lines as the Ultimate Sticker Collection books, but in addition to including more than 500 stickers each, they also have loads of great activities such as games, quizzes, challenges and opportunities to create and use your imagination!

Our son recently expressed an interest in learning more about different kinds of rocks. So, it goes without saying that one of our first picks for our rainy day entertainment was Rocks and Minerals from the Summer Boutique. The book includes a little bit of everything, from crafts to games to stickers. It's been a great way to fill his mind with fascinating facts and information about the world of rocks and minerals. He really enjoys the book as well - and isn't even worried that it might be helping him learn and practice things such as language or cognitive skills! ;)

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Kiss That Itch Goodbye! ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

I love summer! It definitely is my favorite season of the year, but there is just one small little part that I would like to live with out - and that is the mosquito! Yes, we could definitely live without mosquitoes and all the itchy-ness they cause us. However, the reality is that they live here too, and they're not about to leave, so we better find a way to at least tolerate them. Due to an unusually wet spring, the mosquitoes are worse than usual this year, so it really is a miracle if you can go outside and come in without getting any bites. Normally, at least a few of them find their way to us and our children and leave us with some mosquito bites to deal with. The question is...how do we deal with them?!

Over the past years I've tried a variety of different products, creams, natural remedies, etc. None of them have really been able to get rid of the itch in the way that I had been hoping for. They might 'calm' the itch somewhat - but that's about as far as the remedies I've tried have taken us. Recently I was introduced to a new product though, and I'll admit, I agreed to try it out but with an attitude of "it probably won't work any better than the other natural remedies we've tried!" This time, I've been forced to 'eat my words!' Kiss My Itch Goodbye has FAR exceeded my expectations and has been providing us with almost instant relief from all our itchy bites. Even my kids agree that it works FAR better than anything else we've tried. In fact, just tonight I rubbed some Kiss My Itch Goodbye lotion onto a few of their mosquito bites and within a minute or less they claimed that the itching had already stopped. I thought that sounded a little too good to be true, so I tried it on my own itchy bites...and had the same result!! Yep, let's just say, I was VERY impressed!

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Summer Snacking!! GIVEAWAY!!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full Terms of use.

Summer is a great time for road trips, or days out - and we always need to bring food with us. Our kids seem to be hungry all the time lately - especially when they go to Grandma's house! :) Often I have something prepared, but it's handy to have something suitable in the cupboard that I can just grab on the way out too! Mostly we eat fruit and veggies in reusable snack bags, but our kids love a treat too (who doesn't!) and I'm ok with that every once in a while as well. I do have some pretty strict standards though, and it's hard to find a prepared snack that meets my criteria!

G.H. Cretors invented the popcorn machine in 1885 and the company has been making and selling popcorn ever since! Their popcorn is available in a few tasty flavour options:
  • Chicago Mix (mix of cheese and caramel)
  • Just the Cheese
  • Just the Caramel
  • Organic Simply Salted
  • Organic EVOO
That was already pretty interesting. What caught my attention even more was what the G.H. Cretors company said about their products:
  • all natural: no artifical colours, flavours or preservatives
  • gluten-free
  • non-GMO
  • kosher
  • brown rice syrup is used as a sweetener
We've been trying out the Chicago Mix - the kids love it!! I think I prefer the caramel pieces myself, but that's because I have a sweet tooth! The kids seem to devour both flavours equally. It's available in single-serve bags as well as larger packs and the single-serve bags are perfect for taking along and would be great to include in lunches! If you prefer caramel (made with REAL butter) or cheese (made with REAL cheese), these varieties might be available at your local store too! I've been impressed that the kernels are so big and fluffy, and the coating is so pleasantly crispy. I also really like that there haven't been any unpopped (really hard) kernels in the bags - very important when feeding children.

G.H. Cretors products are available in Canada at: Costco, Sobeys, Loblaws Real Superstore (those with a Natural Food Section), No Frills (those with a Natural Food Section) as well as some local retailers. Please use the store locator to find a retailer near you!

WIN IT!!!


One lucky Glimpse reader is going to win a box of 24 Chicago Mix Single Serving bags (1.5-Ounce each)!! This contest is open to Canada and the US!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 14, 2014

DK Discovery Day ~ Stars and Planets Glow in the Dark ~ GIVEAWAY!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Space is one of those parts of our universe that is truly fascinating! I remember being fascinated by it all as a kid...and my husband used to want to be an astronaut as a kid. These days though, I get to watch our own children become enthralled in the world of stars, planets, galaxies and more. In fact, just a few months ago, we did an entire unit study on Space and I will readily admit that even I learned a few new things!

One of the resources that we used was from DK Canada; Stars and Planets Glow in the Dark. This hardcover books is packed full of useful information about the solar system, planets and more. The book has a bunch of neat features as well that children will certainly enjoy. The die-cuts are a great addition to the book and it really makes the book look interesting and irresistible to a youngster...or even to a grown-up! ;) Stars and Planets also has plenty of full color images, labels, descriptions and fun facts. As I said, it's packed full of great stuff for anyone who is looking to learn more about our solar system. The poster and sheet of glow-in-the-dark stickers that was included with the book was definitely a favorite activity during our study of space and the solar system! Our three oldest children really enjoyed adding the stickers to the poster and creating a fabulously fun solar system poster that glows in the dark. Now the only issue is that we need to make sure that all the kids get a chance to have it in their room for several nights so they can check out the glow-in-the-dark stickers instead of going to sleep at night. *wink*

Thursday, July 10, 2014

So Sweet for Summer! ~ GIVEAWAY!!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

Summer weather is officially here and we couldn't be more thrilled about it!! I'm one of those moms who eagerly waits all spring, winter and fall for these few months of hot, sunny summer weather, and you can be sure that the kids and I spend as much of it outdoors as possible when it finally get here. There are great things about all the seasons, but I'm sure it is obvious to you that summer is definitely my favorite. ;)

Along with summertime comes swimming, camping, shorts, t-shirts and this year that also includes our absolutely adorable and summery Boho Tunic Top from Lil' Mama's Boutique! It has quickly become a favorite for our girls as well. The Boho Tunic Top is made out of lightweight cotton or seersucker fabric and works well with a variety of different outfits. So far we've paired it with shorts, skirts and leggings but it would also work well with a skirt or jeans. It is very versatile! The top is shirred with elastic around the neckline and the waist (though you can opt out of the waist shirring if you prefer). Personally, I love the look that the shirring gives around the neck and the waist and it makes the top unique, fun and cute!

Affilliations

Sites we enjoy

Vote for us!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Please rate us at The Mom Blogs

  © Template modified from Blogger template "Simple n' Sweet" by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP