Glimpse

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Back to School with a Smile and LOL

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).


One of my favourite things about moving forward in school is the ability to customize my workspace. Whether it was high school, college, or even in my post-college life the need to put my stamp on a workspace shows no signs of slowing down.

 I’ve always believed that being able to express yourself, even in tiny ways, can make the learning environment more comfortable and encourage healthier learning.

With a new school year fast approaching, I was delighted to find LOL, a company that also believes that a
student’s space does not need to be boring.


LOL offers a full range of products and accessories for tweens, teens, and fun-loving college students. Whether it's decking out a locker, dorm room, or favourite study nook LOL offers something for any personality or space requirements.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Labelling your child's belongings - at school and daycare... GIVEAWAY!!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).


Everywhere you send your child - school, daycare, (day) camp - they always ask for belongings to be labelled. We've found that even in our family, it helps to have each person's things labelled so that each person gets his or her own! :) Plus, there's the advantage that if a labelled object is lost, and found, it has a greater chance of being returned. (I say greater, because it does depend on the person finding it actually reading the label and doing something about it - something I've been frustrated with at our kids' school. Not the label's fault, of course!) So when you're searching through a pile of nearly identical black mittens, you can tell which one is your child's. Or when there's a mitten collection taken from the floor of the classroom (yes, this happens!), each child can recognize their own. Because, of course, even though they wear the mittens regularly, they'd never know which one was theirs without their name on it. (Yes, this happens regularly too!)

Of course, the littler children like to have their belongings labelled for the sheer pleasure of reading their name - likely the first word they can recognize in print! Our little miss loves to see her name beautifully displayed on all her precious stuff! In fact, I have to hide the labels so that it all doesn't become hers! :)

Monday, August 18, 2014

Scholastic Monday ~ Ricky Ricotta ~ GIVEAWAY (3 WINNERS!)

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

If you have some budding readers in your home...or even if you WISH you had some budding readers in your home, this could just be your lucky day! If you take a broad sweep across the world of readers, I believe that you'll find that usually girls are a little more quick to be the ones who love to read and will eagerly sit down and devour story after story. However, oftentimes, boys are more reluctant. One "trick" I've found to get our oldest (a boy) excited about reading is to have books on hand that really interest him. You know, ones about monster trucks, robots, knights, castles, etc. It's amazing how quickly he has begun to truly enjoy sitting down and reading a stack of books! Once he was hooked on books, it's been hard to slow him down - and I am always running out of good books for him to read. (and yes, that is a GOOD problem! :) ).

Scholastic Canada has some great options for both all ages and stages of readers. They have a series of easy to read chapter books that are perfect for boys who might need a little extra encouragement to sit down and read. The Ricky Ricotta books are a series of 4 titles (so far!) that feature Little Ricky Ricotta. In the first book we are introduced to Ricky Ricotta, who has a problem with the bullies at school. One day something BIG happens and he saves the life of a might robot who now becomes a loyal follower/friend of Ricky's and helps Ricky face those big, bad bullies. In fact, together they even save their little town of Squeakyville!

Friday, August 15, 2014

Flush EZ-er!! GIVEAWAY!!

That's EASIER!!

Sometimes flushing can be a problem because of a clog - you know, when the t.p. got wadded and stuck! Or the volume of water just isn't enough to wash it all down. One of the best things you can do to prevent this is to use a toilet paper that breaks down in water easily (EZ-ily? :) )

Tammy Buchanan, a plumber and the founder of Small Jobs Plumbing - the first female owned and operated plumbing company in Nova Scotia - and mother to an eight-year-old boy, deals with clogs all the time. Tammy wants to share her tips and advice on how to fix some of the most common toilet troubles with Canadians through the e•z Toilet Fixes videos on Majesta.com.

Thursday, August 14, 2014

DK Eyewitness

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).


It's really quite sad...but it's still the truth. In a few weeks time, summer will be over and we'll be getting back into the routine of school. Yes, another year of school is only a few weeks away, and I will admit that this week my brain has started to drift back in the direction of my kids' schooling. Although I want them to enjoy summer to the fullest - and that definitely goes for these last few weeks - I also love the idea of throwing in a few educational activities, books, etc. to get them ready and to hopefully get them preparing for another the new school year ahead. DK Canada's Eyewitness Boutique has just the type of books that are great for this type of thing! We've always enjoyed all of their Eyewitness products as they have plenty of photos, lots of great facts and information and they really capture the attention of both adults and children.

DK Canada recently has come out with some brand new paperback editions of 12 of their most popular Eyewitness titles! These are all featured in their Eyewitness Boutique and are currently available for 30% off the regular prices. Besides the new editions, there's also been one never-before-seen Eyewitness book added to their collection. It is none other than Eyewitness Wonders of the World! We have this book on our bookshelves already too and have thoroughly been enjoying it! Our son (8 years old) really enjoyed browsing and reading through the book. Wonders of the World are definitely something that interests him right now, so it's been a wonderful way to put a book in his hands that he WANTS to read and that he is definitely learning from! This title features the seven wonders of the world. It includes stunning photography and lots of fun facts. (I even found my husband reading this book on the couch one afternoon! ;) )

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Is your face getting dry? ~GIVEAWAY!!!

Updated!!!


According to Vichy's research, it is! The skin hydration level in your face changes over the course of the day, especially in certain zones, and then fine lines develop, skin starts to sag and is generally less radiant.

So when most people look in the mirror and need to touch up their face, they really need to touch up their moisture level!

I tend to have very dry skin in the winter, but the summer sun is drying my skin out now too! It's been hot here, lot of beautiful sunny, clear days, and if you want to do anything (ie strawberry or raspberry picking!) you need to be out in the sun. I'm not checking in the mirror to often to see if I'm developing fine lines or saggy skin :) - when you have kids running around the house, who has time for that?! But I do notice a tight, dry feeling that suggests I need moisture!

Friday, August 8, 2014

New Arrival!!


You may have noticed a little less "action" than usual on Glimpse this past week! This is partly due to the arrival of a new little blessing in one of our homes!! I (Andrea) was thrilled to welcome a new baby boy...Joel...into our family this past week. He is very loved by his older siblings...and by us! I'll be back soon with more reviews for you all...and likely some including items for new moms & babies too. :)

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Scholastic Monday ~ Zoe's Jungle

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).


Summer is in full swing, and hopefully so are our kids imaginations! I know that we've had a lot of imagining going on here - and I LOVE it! I truly believe that kids who read books have more vivid imaginations...and so far that has proven to be true in our home. :) It is especially fun to read stories with them in which the characters in the book are also using their imaginations. Zoe's Jungle by Bethanie Deeney Murguia is one of these books. We've enjoyed a few "Zoe" books before and they've also been highly imaginative and a lot of fun for our kid to read or have read to them.

Zoe's Jungle features a fearless, brave, explorer Zoe who (despite Mama's schedule) is determined that she must capture the rare wild Addiebeast that she has spotted! Zoe's mother calls out that they will be leaving in five minutes, but Zoe is not willing to give up her adventure. The playground that she is playing at transforms into a jungle and she chases the Addiebeast across through all kinds of dangerous jungle places. She heads across the precarious logs (balance beams), narrowly escape the wild monkeys (in the jungle gym), and climbs to the very top of the rainforest (a tree house). After all her hard work in the "jungle" will she have enough time to catch the Addiebeast before they need to go?

Zoe's Jungle is an adorable little tale that is heartwarming, fun and captures the lighthearted, imaginative play of a child perfectly. It's a book that children love and can relate too and that will maybe even inspire them to go on their own jungle adventure!

Friday, August 1, 2014

A laundry tip for you...

With 5 of us in this house, it seems like laundry is a never-ending chore family contribution of mine. Other members of this family do laundry occasionally, and our oldest son is learning to do some spot cleaning, and start the washing machine on his own, but the bulk of this falls to me. I try to spot treat as I see spots, because they don't always come out in the wash... and it's always annoying to me when I find something that's gone unnoticed through the washer and dryer. Mostly, you can give up trying to get the stain out after the clothing has been through the dryer.

I've especially had bad luck with grease stains sneaking through. As I'm folding up the laundry, there's that darker coloured spot on the otherwise clean shirt. Grrr!

This week I tried an idea I found on Pinterest, thinking that if it didn't work, I wouldn't have lost anything except time, because the shirt with the grease spot was already basically unwearable, except for grubby work. The idea is NOT mine, but I did tweak it a bit to suit what I had available.

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Let's Get Crafty with Jane Bull!

**Disclosure: The product/s mentioned have been given free of charge from the company or PR firm in exchange for being featured on Glimpse. The opinions expressed in this post are those of Glimpse and have not been influenced in any other way. Please see the full [Terms of use](http://glimpse-reviews.blogspot.com/p/terms-of-use.html).

I've always been one of those people that enjoys crafty things...though as our kids have come along, I've had less time for my own crafty inventions. :) That said, it has been a lot of fun to discover the kids side of crafts and to enjoy doing projects with my own children...and sometimes, after they are all in bed I will pull out my own project and do some creating of my own. Over the last few years I've found that most of the projects have ended up being something that is FOR our kids...I love seeing them light up at the idea of a new hat, dress, or homemade toy. And well, in my opinion when Mom makes that homemade project for her kid, it's just a little extra special - there's a lot of love that goes into some of these things!

This summer we had a fun and unique opportunity to host the Jane Bull doll! Jane Bull is a fabulous author and crafter who's written several books that are sold at DK Canada. She's always wanted to visit Canada, but just hasn't quite made it over here herself yet, so instead she created the Jane Bull doll and sent her over for a tour of our beautiful country. We got to host this special doll for a weekend and were able to show her a few of the sights and sounds of the prairies. These included an old train station that's been transformed into a beautiful restaurant and visitor centre, a great big grain elevator, and of course, a prairie farm. If you look at the photos in the post, you can see a few of the places she toured with us as!

Affilliations

Sites we enjoy

Vote for us!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Please rate us at The Mom Blogs

  © Template modified from Blogger template "Simple n' Sweet" by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP